Skip to content

Ella: I am three.

August 10, 2009
by

Dear Ella

My gorgeous baby girl. The end of your Twos. I have been chatting with Daddy a lot over the last few days marvelling at how I cannot recall a time when you were not part of our lives.

How can I remember a time without Ella? Even thinking that you were once a an actual baby that couldn’t talk or sit or even laugh at me! A whole three years has gone by and I can’t even think of the amount of things that I want you to know at this moment.

You’re beautiful. You’re funny. You’re intelligent and so articulate for your age. You are smart, caring – strong in mind and body. You are sensitive and older than your years already. You are desperate to be older, to be like Rowan, frustrated to be held back by things you can’t quite do. Things you can’t quite say, or reach. You’re a mummy’s girl. You love cuddles and kisses. You give bear hugs that cut off the blood supply to my head! You giggle away at your own craziness. You eat like a horse. Cry loudly and demand attention with a sly smile. You are so cute and so very clever with your humour – smart way beyond your age sometimes I think. You’re a showgirl with a shy side. Quite happy to entertain. One thing that has never changed is your reservation with people who approach you too quickly. Always on your terms. Ever since you were so tiny. I hope you never change.

You are tall – blimey – you are tall! You’re wearing 4-5 sometimes age 6 tops depending on the shop and you’re just about edging up on a  metre already – which quite frankly – is Crazy!

But then – that’s your name – coined by Daddy – Crazy Ella.

Bean – the Beanbag. The tiny one. El. Els. The baby of the family.

And you know what I love about you at the moment and I’m sad because I know it won’t last much longer – you’re still small enough that when you’re tired – or you’ve had enough – you can still curl up on a lap and fall asleep. The last vestiges of your baby-ness.

Such an independent little soul that even when you’re ill or you’ve had a bad dream – you only want to be in mummy’s bed long enough to know I’m around – and then ‘can I go back to my bed now?’ So unlike your sister that will stay in my bed for as long as possible whenever she can 🙂

You’re amazing and you’re beautiful and you’re 3.

And I can’t believe it….

I am 3! 

Lots of love

mummy

x

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mancais permalink
    August 10, 2009 10:13 pm

    A lovely message to the Birthday Girl.

    Happy Birthday Ella. Hope you’ve had a great day x

  2. August 10, 2009 11:57 pm

    and………. you look just like Mummy in pictures :oD

    xc

  3. August 11, 2009 12:09 am

    You think?

  4. Merry permalink
    August 11, 2009 7:26 pm

    Awwwwww.

  5. August 13, 2009 6:06 pm

    Awwww, you’ve made me tear up there. Reading it reminds me that my baby will be three in October. I’m off to grab some tissues.

Leave a Reply

