Skip to content

We are officially old(er)

August 19, 2009
by

Washing Line

Yes. We have a washing line. This is a monumental step for us … as sad as that is. We have had one before in fact. Years ago in our rented house. I’s not the actual owning of the washing line that’s the issue in fact.

It’s the fact that I stated how it would save us money on our electricity bill. I’m pretty sure that’s what my mum said in 1988 when her tumble drier died and they vowed never to buy one again.

Now THAT made me feel older.

*shrug*

Maybe I should buy lots of blankets now for when the cold weather sets in and get some lavender dye for my hair..?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mancais permalink
    August 19, 2009 9:48 pm

    Yes, you should. Then you could be my twin and we can be old together.
    Weird thing – my workmate’s daughter bought her first washing line yesterday and christened it today.

  2. August 19, 2009 9:52 pm

    ooh weird – it’s clearly washing line week … I think really we’ve all realised that summer is on the way out and we need to make the most of the sunny weather – sadly what that means to us is washing lines… but hey.. you can’t have everything..!

  3. August 20, 2009 9:01 am

    In that case we’re oldies too! We have a washing line (it only tends to be used when Mr H does the washing though – he’s put the hooks too high for me to reach them to put it out! – it’s one of the retractable ones). We also have an upstairs landing permanently full of airers, we made the decision when we moved here not to get a dryer to save money.

  4. August 20, 2009 3:30 pm

    We have a washing line – it was my one excitement about finally having a garden. I mean who cares about your kid getting to go outside to play when you can dry your clothes on the line? Yeah, that lasted until the end of the summer when what with working full time and having a phenomenal amount of laundry to get through we gave up and started hanging it up throughout the house Chinese laundry style. When it took three days to dry a load in the middle of winter, we finally gave up and let the MIL buy a tumble dryer. Despite my good intentions we haven’t quite gone back to using the line again this summer.

  5. August 20, 2009 10:36 pm

    LOL That made me laugh 🙂

    we will probably last about a month 😆

  6. August 21, 2009 3:25 am

    In the summer I have to remember to hang everything inside out otherwise it fades. Quickly. In the winter I use the tumble because the five of us and the cafe makes a LOT of washing. If the washing stays out in the rain I have to wash it again before drying as I don’t like the smell, althoough this applied more to the UK than here.
    In the pub I always used the dryer. Not just because of the time factor but mostly because the guy that fixed our roof told me that they always check out the laundry line for undies to perv at. Nice. Not. Never used my line again!

    xc

    Oh yeah, you live by a pub too!!!

  7. Mancais permalink
    August 21, 2009 9:10 pm

    That’s why I don’t put undies on the line unless I’m home for the duration and they have to be at the end next to the house so neighbours can’t see.

Leave a Reply

