Skip to content

Do I get paid yet?

September 11, 2009
by

Hectic couple of mornings this week meant that a letter I needed to get to my childminder was still on our dining room table (along with other crap) 24 hours after it was supposed to be in her hand.

BN called me from the walk with Ella to nursery to let me know he’d forgotten to take it yesterday and that it was on the dining room table – he reminded me to take it. You need to take it, he said.

OK. I can do that.

I put it on the sofa with her bag and book bag and I gathered up all the other crap I needed for Rowan & school. Handbag and jackets and all sorts of stuff and put the letter on the sofa with her book bag and her backpack. Just as I realised that I had no idea where my keys were and that I hadn’t seen them for a couple of days… I hunted… I looked in three days worth of handbags, under cushions and behind curtains just as my cab arrived to take us to the childminder’s house (her name is U).

I need them I need them I need them….

Argh – I can’t find anything and why do I not get things ready the night before more often!!

I sent Rowan into the lounge and asked her to pick up everything on the sofa as I grabbed my bag and got the door.

In the car on the way – I suddenly asked Rowan if she’d picked up the letter from the sofa…

She looked at me really brightly and sparkly and not with the remotest sense of spite or bad behaviour and jovially said:

OH Yes!! I saw that letter on the sofa and I knew that U needed it but I thought – That’s not my job to get that! So I left it!

😯

Uuuummmmmm….?!?!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2009 12:34 am

    snigger, sounds like my boys 🙂 Marisa would have packed my bag the night before, picked up my keys and put everything in the car, whilst playing on her ds, although probably still waring pj’s!

    xc

  2. September 13, 2009 8:12 pm

    LOL and you are THE worst people ever for keys. You really should consider changing your house to thumbprint entry pads!

  3. September 14, 2009 10:13 am

    Get a hook by the door to leave your keys on!
    As for the ‘it’s not my job’ moment, I’d have started by telling her it’s not your job to cook her tea or clean her clothes! That’d change her attitude.

  4. Mancais permalink
    September 14, 2009 9:10 pm

    Gobsmacked doesn’t come close!
    Key hook yes, but not by the door. Crminal types look there and get wire to hook your keys off.

Leave a Reply

