Skip to content

Titled….. um

October 5, 2009
by

Can I really catch up all the things that have happened?

Um.

We have had a very blury two weeks or so – Ella being in hospital is the last kind of time marker that I can think of. Other than that it just seems to be one long list of things that need to be done, times that we need to be out of the front door, lunches that need to be made, places we need to get to and never enough time to do any of them properly.

Rowan is loving school – she seems to be settled – happy. Her first parents evening tomorrow and I’m looking forward to meeting her teacher properly. I think she’s finding her feet well and we went to her first class birthday party on Saturday.

M&M were 5 – Twins in her class. Lovely kids and the party was good fun. Not the normal Whacky Warehouse affair – not that there’s anything wrong with them really but they had a magician in a parish hall – it was fun and low key and home made party food. All very pleasant – pass the parcel and just really good to meet other parents and put a few faces to names of kids that she’s mentioning every day.

Work is hectic – never seem to get everything done. Always a big to-do list and a big pile of un-filed filing on my desk and another pile of it behind me on my filing cabinet. We are busier which is great – but need more and the stress of certain things going on at work is causing me a little sleepless time at night at the moment.

Ella is – well. Ella is not the best at the moment. Testing the barriers of Threedom very nicely. Trying to work out who’s in charge in the house – thinking that it’s her and being quite upset when she realises it’s not.

Has resulted in many a night in bed after tea so far.

I think it is starting to dawn on her that life is quite miserable for her at the moment but I’m not 100% sure that she can stop herself from having the mammoth strops long enough to realise she has a choice about throwing them.

so.

Ho hum. She can be pleasant and loving and hilarious when she chooses to be….. but

Life with the number 3 again. Oh how we missed it.

Ahem.

Life with Rowan on the other hand — is great. She’s mostly absolutely gorgeous and well mannered and funny. Settled and well meaning and cuddly.

I can’t believe she’s 5 in a few days. It’s gone so fast. I was sharing her baby photos with her earlier this evening and she was so enthralled with the pictures of how she was little holding *that* teddy when she was holding that teddy *right* now. She still talks to herself in the videos of her when she was younger which makes me just wanna smoosh her little face 🙂

We looked at videos of her and Ella together and she wanted to know if I was *in* the video – Are you in there? she asked me.

Then it dawned on me how little she still is even though she’s so big.

I can’t believe I have one that’s at school and I can’t believe she’s nearly 5!!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mancais permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:33 pm

    Busy busy busy.
    I know the feeling. Get home from work and collapse on sofa.
    Times like this I’m glad I don’t have kids.

  2. October 5, 2009 9:00 pm

    Well – rub it in why don’t ya! 😉

    My husband went to bed 40 minutes ago! Anyone would think we were 60!!

  3. October 6, 2009 12:22 am

    I suspect this is why our blog has been a tad dull for a while, too bloody knckered to do anything exciting! We had a kid free weekend for the first time in more than 2 years and we were too tired to party.
    Boo

    xc

  4. October 6, 2009 3:19 pm

    Don’t start – 8:45 I was in bed last night, and the husband had already been asleep on the sofa for half an hour by that point!

  5. Mancais permalink
    October 6, 2009 9:49 pm

    I’m glad it’s not just me.

  6. October 6, 2009 11:44 pm

    well aren’t we all a bundle of fun 🙂

    xc

  7. October 7, 2009 6:16 pm

    Did I miss the post where you said why Ella was in hospital?

  8. October 9, 2009 7:15 pm

    um no you did not. I didn’t tell you because I have lost the will to blog! I shall go and do that now….. and advertise my poor parenting at the same time….

Leave a Reply

