Skip to content

Now I am Five

October 13, 2009
by

Today my little girl turned five.

The years have flown by and I honestly cannot believe that the little one that started off the length of my forearm is now the cheeky little girl that tries to rule this house.

She had a lovely day – she asked me a few times if she could wake up really early like Peppa Pig and come and bounce on my bed because it was her birthday. She was brilliant this morning. I expected her to wake up about 5am and to be fair she didn’t appear that early – and when I asked her to go back to bed because it was a little bit early – she didn’t make a sound of complaining…. just silked back to her bed and lay there quietly till Ella woke up. She told me later that she lay there with her eyes open until her clock said 7.

I kind of feel as though I let her down a bit. We haven’t enough money for a party so she couldn’t have a Wacky Warehouse affair which I think is what she wanted. She told someone in front of me yesterday that that was what she was having and I had to correct her and tell her there wasn’t going to be a party. I felt awful – but we just don’t have the cash.

She got a lovely bike though – BN haggled the local shop down to £65 for it and it’s gorgeous I have to say. A baby seat, a bag on the front, a bell and tassels on the handle bars. I know once she gets the hang of it she’ll be great on it and have lots of fun… We decorated the front room and put balloons everywhere – she came downstairs to find the bike that she thought she couldn’t have till the weekend and there were lots of smiles.

She got a couple of DVDs (a Barbie one naturally!) and Kung Fu Panda… a drinks bottle for her packed lunch and a Snow White dress and a bit of chocolate. Her lovely childminder threw her a party after school and we took her into town for an ice cream.

I got to collect her after school for the first time since she started and I was so excited – she of course walked out of her classroom, saw me and said she only wanted Daddy – I *could* have cried – but I held it in. Kids 🙄

We are holding a birthday weekend for her this weekend coming – we’re absolutely skint so it will only involve a few bits for a party tea and a homemade cake but hopefully she’ll love it. I do so hate money and I can’t wait to have a bit more of it!!

So…

My beautiful Rowan Anna.

You are the most precocious and gorgeous little girl – you totally light up our house and I am utterly in love with your sensitive and excitable sparkle … I can’t believe there was ever a time in my life when I didn’t get to have you in it.

You’ve grown lately – not really in height (I hate to break it to you but I don’t think you take after Daddy’s side of the family) but in your little self? You have grown. You talk and talk – in a good way as well as the incessant way. You have a great vocabulary and you know how to use it! You are still a little unsure at school I think – finding your feet and still a touch cautious. You were a tiny bit disappointed today that no one said Happy Birthday at school and I think you worry that it means more than it does.

Just 4 and 5 year-olds unfortunately that have no idea that your amazing little heart reaches out for every bit of reassurance it can get. You always have been the same. You love to have love.

We went to your parents evening last week and Miss F said you were smart and articulate and that you enjoyed adult attention. She said that you often are desperate to talk to the adults – and get some intelligent conversation. It doesn’t surprise me in the least! She said you are desperately trying to reach out to two little girls who have known each other since nursery, B and A, and that they occasionally let you in but not always. You declare them as your friends – so I do hope they do become that.

You are such an intricate complication of all these traits that make you the most complex and straight forward person to have around. You are tactile and loving as you always have been – you’re full of love and giggles and you’re never far from a drama. But within this predictable girl I know who has always been such, you are also finding your feet as a grown person. You are getting frustrated when you’re not allowed to explain your point of view. You always have a point of view!! You huff a lot if you get told off for interrupting – and you’re struggling with the whole sharing aspect of life whether it’s in conversation or in toys… Always pulling every situation through to its worst possible consequence, there’s never a dull moment when you have a Rowan – and we wouldn’t have it any other way.

Love you Pickle. Peanut RowanBerry Pumpkin.

a million billion squillion

Love Mama x

Opening pressies

Barbie DVD – no good birthday should be without one!

Snow White finds a bike in the front room!!

Snow White finds a bike in the front room!

Happy Birthday Rowan!!!

Watching Barbie whilst I ride my bike. Sort of...

Sitting on the bike, watching Barbie. The perfect end to any good birthday!

Chatting to Grampty now I'm 5

On the phone to Grampty at the end of the day… A little sparkly cardy and a dress up ballet skirt from my friend U.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Merry permalink
    October 13, 2009 10:11 pm

    Happy Birthday little girl. My heart would have broken at no one saying HB to her 😦

    See you soon!!!!!

  2. October 13, 2009 10:18 pm

    I did feel a little part of my heart get crushed… but I think they probably did say it. We took a cake to school which her teacher handed out for snack… and she got called to the front for a sticker… she is just so sensitive and I think sometimes she needs to hear everything ten times for it to count.
    I am hoping that someone said it!

    See you soon! – have text you so you need to answer!

  3. October 14, 2009 12:10 am

    Happy Birthday Rowan, I love the bike, can never have too many sparkles!

    xc

  4. October 14, 2009 1:21 pm

    That’s one mega bike – bet Ella was jealous?

  5. Mancais permalink
    October 16, 2009 10:25 pm

    Belated happy Birthday Rowan x
    Hope you enjoyed the day and the weekend is fun.

  6. October 17, 2009 12:11 am

    Awww, that’s lovely. Happy birthday to her!! I have a little Libra too and they do like to rule the roost . . . must be the scales of justice thing and all!!

  7. October 18, 2009 2:29 pm

    She is BEAUTIFUL. And don’t feel bad about the party. We don’t give our kids parties every year either. She will not remember this later. That bike is quite the princess ride!

Leave a Reply

