Skip to content

Working backwards

October 23, 2009
by

So today my Baby Bean has Chicken Pox.

Very bad timing it has to be said. Next week is half term – both girls were supposed to be going to my parents house for 3 days – Wednesday to Friday. The idea was to help us with childcare costs as well as a nice holiday for them and for us over half term. They were going to have a party with my sister’s 4 girls and my dad was gonna use the olders for additional entertainment for the baby of the group (for  now), Ella.

This may well have mucked all that up. Plus? Everywhere I’m reading says that Chicken Pox is like 10 days off school/ nursery. And Rowan doesn’t even have it yet!

Great. Not.

Before that – we have been settling into BN having his new job and that seems to be going well – as well as it can seeing as his job involves listening to people complain all day…

Last weekend was awful. For those of you that know me or follow twitter, Rowan fell off her brand new birthday bike. Not in a oopsIfelloffmybikeohdeargrazedknee kind of way… but Oh! Look! A 5ft drop – let’s cycle off this – that’ll be fun!

Riding her new bike in the park that she knows like the back of her hand. This was her first real ride on her new bike. She had to get used to the peddles, learn how to brake how to stop – not to put her feet down when she’s nervous – how to slow down using brakes…. all of this stuff you forget you had to learn when you first rode a bike. She was practicing going faster along a top pathway that’s massively wide… like 6 strides wide! And peddling her little socks off going back and forth whilst Ella practiced on her trike.

BN had to swap with me and spend some time with Ella as she was having a melt down over learning to peddle a tricycle… I encouraged Rowan to cycle down the path (the REALLY WIDE ONE!!) and I was trying to give her some confidence about riding faster and going further away from me… This path is reeaaallly long and straight. Straight and Long. Very Long and very straight.

She cycled about 20ft and then turned and came back and was v proud etc. etc. and said wasn’t it great how far she’d gone … and I said yes it was great but did she know she could go even further? because wow man -look how straight and long and rilly rilly long and straight this path was! AND how I could see all the way to the end and she wouldn’t be able to get lost!

She was super-enthused about it and turned her bike round and set off! Peddling like a superstar and looking like she was really enjoying herself – then suddenly with no warning when she was about 15ft from me she just veered to the left.

There’s a relatively steep slope, then an edge and then (depending on where you are in the park) there’s a 3-6ft drop. We were at the part where it was about 5ft. I still have not managed to shake it from my mind. The sound of her screaming for me – suddenly realising that she wasn’t stopping. Realising she was scared and that there was the drop… seeing her fly off the edge into the air and then falling hard to the ground.

Awful.

I know there are terrible accidents – I know this wasn’t a terrible accident – but jeebus. This was shite.

I felt so responsible – for encouraging her to ride faster and ride away from me. I felt so guilty for realising too late that I had to chase after her. I felt terrible that she thought I hadn’t run fast enough, awful  that I had to slow down at the edge so as not to break my own leg just as she was literally flying through the air. Just awful that I couldn’t stop it from happening.

Bless her. I jumped down and she had landed face first 😦 so she had a mouthful of grass and a gaze chin, cut lip…. she was all still – I kinda froze… and then she turned to look at me. I instantly pounced on her and grabbed her up. BN jumped down and brought Ella down and we checked her over… she was just all shocked and small and frightened.

It was a rubbish afternoon … watching to see if she had concussion or whatever… she was quiet and sleepy for the afternoon. Went nauseous at one stage and we took her up to A&E. They saw her straight away and gave her the once over – all was well and we were back home in an hour.

Scary afternoon though. Wouldn’t wanna repeat it 😦

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Merry permalink
    October 23, 2009 9:12 pm

    Urgh. You are having a rubbish time.

    CP – mostly the infection is over once the spots are not coming out and are dry – they can go back to school then. But it can take 5-14 days 😦 Please everything that Rowan gets it quickly – all mine waited till day 21 of the child to have had it before. Rotters!

  2. October 23, 2009 9:31 pm

    At least you were at home though… I fear I may lose my job if that happens!!!! Rowan is definitely not allowed to do that 😦

  3. Mancais permalink
    October 23, 2009 10:48 pm

    It’s one thing after another at the moment. Hope it gets better fo you soon. Hugs xx

  4. October 23, 2009 11:51 pm

    Awww poor little thing, just as well they forget this stuff fairly quickly! Hope the rest is soon sorted too…

    xc

  5. October 25, 2009 9:51 pm

    I so know how you felt with this… Just after Cameron learned to ride his bike in the park he was going down a hill. For whatever reason he froze as he started to roll faster which prevented him from pulling on the brakes. I watched as he flew out of control down the hill, hit a concrete bollard at the bottom and then catapulted in the air, flipped once and landed flat on his back. And was completely silent. The fall had winded him – he came away with a cut between his fingers where he’d hit the bollard. I’m so glad he had a helmet on because it was smashed and cracked all the way through at the back – had he not had it on I hate to think the consequence… Hope things return to normal soon – whatever ‘normal’ is!

  6. Mancais permalink
    October 27, 2009 10:43 pm

    I’ve given you a tag thingy

  7. November 15, 2009 11:53 am

    thank you for the tag thingy – sorry I haven’t been here to accept it. I am going to make more of an effort I think.

    FF – crikes! That sounds scary too!! Helmets are definitely the way to go – thankfully I know Rowan has one on the way care of Aunty Merry 🙂
    Not something I would ever want to repeat. I still think about it now. Was absolutely horrible.

Leave a Reply

