Skip to content

Midwife & Expletives

February 2, 2010
by

I had my first community midwife appointment today…..

and after having a dream that a midwife searched for ages …

and ages….

and ages …. and couldn’t find a heartbeat…. I’m glad to say that although very faint and hiding…. we did hear Little Bug’s heart ‘wowing’ away for about 10 – 15 seconds. There was definitely no galloping… there was ‘wow wow wowing’ …

Enough for me to feel reassured that LB’s in there and growing and doing OK.

Bug or Buglette? We’re taking guesses for the next calendar month as the scan on the 2nd March should provide the answer.

There may even be a prize.

There may not ….

But there might be…

Probably not though.

Anyhoo!

The midwife wasn’t *my* midwife – who I have yet to meet – as she is on holiday apparently. And this midwife? This midwife SUCKS at taking blood in a painless fashion. (No Twilight references intended).

All I can say is FUCKING OW!

My arm still hurts and I am less than impressed at the impression she’s left on my arm. In plain English? BRUISE!!!

I spent the rest of the day at the factory and after working from 5am for the second day in a row? I’m glad to say that things are looking a little brighter at work. I have found someone who is willing to do the job that the other person left and First Girl came and helped for the afternoon as well.

It’s looking better — which means I can stop updating FB with unhappy faces and expletives.

Tiredness is rapidly reaching the nausea stage – although that could be to do with the mountain of pasta that I ate for tea and the crappy, rubbishy, shit twat of a cold I’ve caught from my gorgeous daughter…. so I am off to bed.

But see? Look!

Blogging!! 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Merry permalink
    February 2, 2010 10:00 pm

    Aaaah, little wow sound. I like 🙂

  2. February 2, 2010 11:27 pm

    Always reassuring to hear :o)
    The Wow
    and the blogging
    ;o)

    xc

  3. February 3, 2010 4:11 am

    Those seconds of waiting until they find the heartbeat…..seem like forever.
    So glad it was a good appt, even if not your midwife…

  4. February 3, 2010 10:25 am

    You get your own midwife? I saw a total of 8 including the one who appeared for the birth.

  5. February 3, 2010 2:45 pm

    excitement all around… 🙂
    don;t forget u gotta show us the 1st pic!!! 😉
    xxx

  6. February 4, 2010 7:56 pm

    @Vic – well no… not quite like that. The GP surgery we belong to has a community midwife that you see for appts like your blood tests and so on. There’s 2 different surgeries just on our main road as well as countless others in the area so I presume each one has a community midwife that does their registered patients.
    With Rowan and Ella’s pregnancy I went to the antenatal clinic at the hospital instead and saw a different one every time we went – with weekly scans for Rowan and a few extra for Ella I bet we saw about 20 per pregnancy!

    But the reason I did that was because I didn’t like the Com. Midwife at the surgery and asked to be transferred to the hospital clinic – that midwife has now moved on to another surgery so I am happy to stay.

    However – during labour with Rowan – we must have had about 6 -8 different midwives just in that day alone! I’m hoping to get a reasonable relationship with the GP one – Alison – it would be nice to be seen by someone who actually gets to know you a little bit 🙂

  7. February 4, 2010 8:51 pm

    I didn’t see the same midwife twice through my pregnancy with the boychild. I’d met the midwife who delivered him only because she was on duty on the antematal ward when I was admitted with the bleed!

  8. February 4, 2010 9:16 pm

    It is kind of weird that in the most important and occasionally intimate experiences of your life you have such a variety of people looking at you, poking and prodding… but then I guess it’s good if you happen not to particularly like one of the ones you get at some point….

    Hard to say what my thoughts are on it really…. on the fence 🙂

Leave a Reply

