Skip to content

Lack of sleep…

February 6, 2010
by

… does not a happy mummy make.

I am being mean, mean, mean to my children today. I only get to see them for two days a week really and I am spending more and more of those days shouting at them and telling them to go away at the moment.

Problem?

I am shattered. No matter how much sleep I get, it never seems to be enough. I am suffering with some sort of low blood pressure or low glucose or something at the moment because I am getting visual disturbances and dizziness along with nausea. I don’t think it’s anything serious. Possibly a migraine. I have always had migraines without headaches as such. Visual stuff always used to be a black shadow though rather than a shimmering line… but the nausea and the tiredness fits.

Work has been so horrendously busy this week it’s untrue. I’ve lost 2 or 3 lbs this week just from being on the go and not eating enough I think. Working three mornings this week from about 5am because of the factory contract and then still being drawn into work at ten at night partly for the factory and partly for things that I haven’t got done. I didn’t sleep properly for nights, worrying about work as there was just. so. much. to. do.

I also have stuff I need to do today as well really as I’ve spent so much time at the factory getting it all sorted since a member of my staff left last week (that’s another story I may get round to telling) that I haven’t actually had time to do my job.

My job still needs doing and I’m the only one to do it meaning I am being spread so thin I think I’m splitting at the sides.

I slept shit last night because BN went out and when I woke up at 1am and he wasn’t home yet I couldn’t drift back off. I ended up being awake till about 3.30 and then being disturbed every 30 minutes with… um…. sound disturbance. I can’t say snoring ‘cos it’s mean. Oh – oops πŸ™‚

Up at 7.30 this morning for a two hour driving lesson after being woken up at 6.30 by my kids who only ever seem to wake up before 7 on a Saturday and Sunday and then insist on having conversations at the top of their voices in the bathroom with the door open until they’re told to be quite.

Seriously? EVERY WEEKEND.

*SOBS*

They are asked nicely, shouted at, punished, reminded, told off, reminded, punished, asked nicely, shouted at. Months and months. No change. Monday to Friday? Dig them out of bed at 7.15 so unconscious that Rowan practically cries. Weekends? It’s like they think they win something if they can wake up as early as possible and make as much noise as a school full of kids.

Regardless – NOT FUNNY.

Every weekend morning they look at me like

*blink blink*

We have to be …. *QUIET*??? What *IS* this heinous word??!?!? We know not of it and we shan’t do it!!!!

(Although actually [note to all parents] – they will – but only until you have got back into bed and are almost asleep and then – from hence forth – They shall be more noisy than they were in the first place). Rinse and Repeat.

So from today I have changed my tactic. They have normally worked to the – after-this-morning’s-behaviour-no-kids-TV-for-you-today rule, but now I have decided to come from the other angle. No TV at all, no bedtime CDs at all until they learn to do as they’re asked at the weekend. All we ask is that they play till 8am and then we will take them down for breakfast.

They do understand it. Don’t you feel sorry for them!

They USED to do it all the time – now it’s like —- ooooOOohh!! You thought we would do that forever?? DUDE!! We were just showing you what we *could* do! We ain’t ever gonna be doin’ that again!

Well – here it is, kids!

You so ARE!

Cos if you don’t?? Someone is moving into the shed. And it’s not me!

= grumpy shouting mother. /rant.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 4:11 pm

    Don’t worry – it’ll be much much easier when you’ve got 3 kids

  2. February 6, 2010 7:12 pm

    My kids have that built in get up early on days off thing too. It is a killer.
    Cat naps (for you I mean?)

  3. February 7, 2010 1:21 pm

    Sounds like the average day in my house except our routine starts at 4am …. I have actually forgot what it feels like not to be tired now.

  4. February 8, 2010 1:54 pm

    Sounds like it’s time to pull the ‘I’m pregnant, I need the sleep, you go and deal with them’ card. No, never worked for me either.

  5. February 8, 2010 2:18 pm

    I think I’ve seen a House episode with someone lilke that… that couldn;t get any restful sleep or some’t like that!!! GET YOUR LIVER CHECKED!!! (or was it kidney?!?!?!) πŸ™‚

    VIC – You are such a liar!!! πŸ˜›

  6. February 8, 2010 8:56 pm

    Ditto Vic!

    I hope the girls get themselves back into behaving on a weekend morning again soon.

  7. February 10, 2010 7:13 pm

    Awww, hugs to you! And, congrats to you on your pregnancy — three’s a charm!!

  8. Mancais permalink
    February 14, 2010 11:07 pm

    Hope this weekend was better

Leave a Reply

