Skip to content

Mother’s Day

March 14, 2010
by

I had a lovely day today… sort of…. apart from the tidying! But that was all my own fault to be fair.

If I wasn’t such a messy cow 🙂

Lie in, followed by gorgeous morning cuddles – breakfast in bed with the girls while BN fetched and carried and cooked and provided hot drinks and crumpets and croissants and pancakes and it was all delish!

The girls made me their own cards – a really cute one from Rowan she made at school, with her photo on it and her own written message inside. And one from Ella, made at nursrey, with her painty little footprints on it – which I adore.

I don’t know about you – and no judgement or offence intended … but I much prefer that Mother’s Day is about them making something for you. They were so proud to give them to me and it meant so much to receive stuff they created for me. I think when you’re the mummy of your first tiny wee thing, then it’s so nice to get cards from others but to me personally, now they’re old enough to make something themselves, it means so much. I told BN that I didn’t need or want gifts or anything from card shops and I know he was reluctant – he loves making a fuss of me and showing me that he cares – but we could do with saving the pennies and it’s the thought that counts.

I just loved it, just the way it was.

Had a lovely snuggle in bed and the girls were cuteness personified … while BN folded and put away all the girls’ laundry and cleared out some clothes they’ve grown out of, we snuggled and giggled until we decided that we really should do the cleaning that we promised we would…

The girls played in the garden – enjoying the sunshine making an appearance and the chance to be noisy and run about.

I spent the day cleaning the bathroom, vacuuming, mopping, Dettol-ing and tidying the girls’ room, our room and the landing.

I feel much better about the house now – it was looking like someone had coloured it grey getting a wee bit dusty.

Then…

Lazy afternoon – well I say afternoon – not actually sure that I got out of my bed until about 12.30pm so half a lazy afternoon.

Now looking forward to a nice tea and a sit down with some pre-recorded episodes of Desperate Housewives!

Hope all you yummy mummys had a lovely day and that someone spoilt you too

x

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 11:25 pm

    We don’t celebrate Mothers Day out here until later in the year, so I’ll let you know how it goes. Glad you had a great time with the girlies though

    xc

  2. Mancais permalink
    March 15, 2010 11:50 am

    Sounds like a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

