Skip to content

On a more upbeat note!

June 9, 2010
by

I am officially one month away from my due date.

I have a bug or buglette due to join the Nutty Family Tree and I am apprehensive.

Excited.

But apprehensive.

Can I do this again?

Labour?

Delivery?

Will everything be OK?

Will I cope with a baby??

No sleep??

MY BEST FRIEND SLEEP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Waaaahhhhhhhhhh 😥

I am large for my dates – I had an appointment with my midwife a couple of weeks ago – should have been measuring somewhere between 32 and 33 weeks but actually measured… 36 – 37 weeks! eeek!! 😯

Scan appointment was made for the next day and sure enough…  it showed that Bug or Buglette – is hooo-ajj. (huge)

I had to have a glucose tolerance test (which I had previously declined) to make sure there was none of the diabeeeeties in there causing massive babyness. I had declined it earlier seeing as the only reason for it was that I have a raised BMI. I read up on gestational diabetes a lot … plus having a bit of biology knowledge and interest myself back in the day 🙂

I know you if you have it you have a lot of thirst… like very abnormal thirst …  a very sweet tooth… glucose in your urine…. a large baby also being a sign … can be more apparent in women with a higher weight etc. but I was stubborn.

I was 26 weeks pregnant – not showing any signs of any of the above apart from the fact that I was overweight.

I had better things to do than sit in a waiting room for 3 hours having blood tests!

But the measurements of big babyness prompted the midwives into flat out ordering me to have the test.

It was negative – as I knew it would be… so I have another scan booked for 23rd June. They have said that if it still looks 4 weeks + ahead in size then I may be offered an induction for early delivery. The consultant was concerned about my hip size ability to deliver an 11lb + baby … EEEEP!

They think if I have it about 37 weeks it would more likely be 9lb ish.

So – to intervene or not to intervene.

I am half way through – or more really – my penultimate week at work. Next week last week – woooohooo! Am knackered! So that’s good – obviously things are crazy busy at work and I am busy training a replacement for me as well as trying to keep everything going in general worky type stuff. Also simultaneously doing the job of a member of staff who is on holiday until the day I leave….

*deep breath*

But – all looking good.

Can’t say I’m that thrilled about the prospect of impending agony again ….but hey…..

I am trying to be positive!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 8:38 pm

    Should I ever get pregnant again (by mistake) I am totally going to say to my doctor “But MrsBN says I don’t need to do the yucky glucose test!” I never even thought about it refusing it. And yes, the only symptom I ever had was being overweight. I so wish I had been more proactive.

    Good luck with everything!

  2. June 11, 2010 12:21 pm

    That test is horrible! Glad it came back negative though! Good luck with everything!!

  3. June 11, 2010 3:42 pm

    I’m so glad the test was negative and all is good (if big!) with baby.

    You can do it! You’ll be a fab mum to three!

  4. June 12, 2010 10:32 am

    Wow your pregnancy has flown by so fast, or though I have a sneaky feeling you probably don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

