Skip to content

Under the Covers…

February 13, 2012
by

Quite a few years ago now, BN and I had a bedroom related epiphany.

Don’t close the page and back away – I’m not that into sharing.. well maybe I am…

But not today.

So long ago now that I can’t actually remember when, we realised that sharing one duvet between the two of us, just didn’t work. At all.

Over the years I have come to know that everyone is different in the bedroom – Lots of conversations with girl friends, boyfriends, other couples and such proves that basically – we are all the same. You are either freezing cold… wafted when you least expect it or suddenly reeling like a saucer on a table with the cloth whipped away from you like a magic trick! Now you see it – now you don’t!

There are those of us who are leaders in the use of duvet – and those of us who follow.

But really?

We ALL want to do what we want with the blanket we are sleeping underneath – but it VERY RARELY HAPPENS!

I like to be wrapped up like a sausage roll, warm and snug and I turn periodically through the night reserving the right to suddenly throw my covers off for however long it takes me to cool down until I want to be oven baked liked a sausage roll again… but I only ever throw them off my back – never my front. Therefore sharing a duvet – leads to issues! I like to have a warm back which means I would have to face him constantly – but I hate someone breathing right in my face which means…. cold back… the list is endless.

BN likes to have his quilt right up to his nose and tucked under his feet at the same time. He does this wafting thing when he first gets in… he lifts and tucks with his feet and toes repeatedly… a kind of duvet shuffle… that takes around 4 minutes to perfect the art of the right amount of toe coverage – that simply does drive.me.insane.

Add to this the fact that I am a lot shorter – the quilt up to the nose thing for him? Practically suffocated me on occasion… not as funny as it sounds!

I cannot share a quilt with a toe covering obsessed crazy person who suffocates me at intervals through the night, at the same time as being comfortably cocooned up, baking in my trapped wind body heat. Coupled with the fact that I go to bed usually at least an hour earlier than BN and afore-mentioned toe covering would wake me up just as he got settled – just leads to middle of the night huffings and puffings – and not the good sort!

According to BN – in the dead of night, I apparently would get cold and then follow him round the bed in my sleep like a truffle hunting pig *snort snort*  BN is always warm through the night and would end up perched on the edge of the bed clinging on like a shivering mountain goat whilst I absorbed every particle of warmth I could possibly steal whilst wrapped in all of the duvet 🙂

So – years ago – years … I mean we have been together almost 12 and this was definitely before we had Rowan – so probably a decade ago… one of us – and I can’t remember which – introduced an extra item to the bedroom.

Meet Second Duvet 🙂

Instantly our middle of the night huffs and puffs – our outbursts of hurrumphing and arguing at 3am stopped. He could toe cover like a crazy person to his heart’s content and I could wrap, turn and cool as my heart desired… and we woke every morning with the right amount of sleep and no more arguing over who had been warmest/coldest/more hard done by/disturbed than the other.

Then we bought the king sized bed and our dreams really were complete…. We get as far away from each other as humanly possible some nights, occasionally meeting in the middle for some hot snoring and bed breath action!

Now this is the way it works for us – clearly four kids on, one very recently, almost 12 years together and counting, there are no issues in the romance department – in our bed (even with a 3 month old and a toddler in the house!) occasionally there is some hot duvet action! Really – there is!

I mentioned the other night on Twitter that BN was just the cutest ever as very early in the morning when we got up with the kids, I had very briefly mentioned that I had been cold through the night. When I went to bed (before him) that night, he had been to the cupboard and got out an extra blanket for me and laid it out on my side of the bed all in line with my duvet. Not just put on my side but actually made it for me. I just thought that was the sweetest ever. I had hardly mentioned it in the morning but he thought of me. I don’t care what *you* call it – I call that romance.

But someone brought it to the table in the brief Twitter conversation that followed, that separate duvets indicated that romance was dead in our house – we couldn’t possibly claim love was alive with separate sleeping… but I disagree – OBviously! 😀

So – that lead me to thinking – what are your duvet antics? Are we the weird ones? Does everyone else just prefer to share and argue or be cold when the other person steals? Do you have extra-large quilts or some other secret? Or are you just willing to put up with not being in charge of your blanket?!

Tell  me!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lucy permalink
    February 13, 2012 2:31 pm

    2 duvets is just common sense 🙂

  2. Carol permalink
    February 13, 2012 8:35 pm

    Goodness this post made me chuckle.
    I can visualised the toe crunching and the duvet flapping so clearly!
    In our house its musical beds. DH has a bed made up on the floor which he frequents when me and baby are taking up too much room, or he’s restless or he is irritating me etc. SOmetimes he is there all night or sometimes only part, you can never tell.
    Having had 5 kids I am certain that romance isnt dead.

  3. February 13, 2012 10:18 pm

    Hurrah for husbands who take it upon themselves to vacate when they’re annoying 🙂

  4. February 18, 2012 5:25 pm

    Truffle hunting pig… HAHAHAHAHA. I can actually picture you now as a truffle hunting pig. Snort!

Leave a Reply

